Which Direction

Old 12-01-05, 06:32 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Which Direction

I just today purchased Lincoln SP 175 Mig and am learning how to use it. I am a competent stick welder but this is my first wire feed welder. My only question for now is direction of weld. I am right handed and am used to going from left to right with the stick. I spent about 30 minutes only so far, and was going in the same direction. The manual suggest the push method, right to left fo right handed welders. I got very good beads with the left to right direction. I will have more time tomorrow to play with my new toy but I would like to hear more about to push method. Whats the advantage? After I use this toy for a few days I will post a review on price and results of my new toy. For now I'll just say its a real "sweetie." Stay tuned.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-01-05, 08:35 PM
GMAW with steel is either a "pull" or a "push". A drag or pull gun technique will give you a bit more penetration and a narrower bead. A push gun technique will give you a bit less penetration, and a wider bead.

If you were welding aluminum with GMAW it has to be a push.

If you are using FCAW is has to be a pull as the slag would contaminate the weld if you used the push technique.

Hope this helps and congrats on the new machine

Old 12-03-05, 01:15 PM
redtoadjim
Visiting Guest
Originally Posted by spanishgrass