Help with autobody welding

Old 12-17-05, 09:32 PM
foxracing500r
Visiting Guest
Help with autobody welding

Hi Im new to the forums and I have a question about welding, Im new to welding and basically never welded, I have a 73 c10 and need to weld some of the body, like the bottom door repair pannels and such, What type of welder would I use? Whats easiest and whats cheapest. Thanks in advance and have a Happy Holiday

Old 12-18-05, 05:51 AM
Super Moderator
Received 65 Likes on 60 Posts
A mig welder is what is best at welding auto panels.
Be carefull though if you plan to buy a cheap one.
Inexpensive migs can be quite troublesome and hard to find consumeables for.

If you browse previous posts there is a lot of discussion on purchasing welders.

Old 12-18-05, 05:58 AM
lutheranpastor
Visiting Guest
auto body welding

My experience in welding thin materials is limited. It is possible to use an oxy-acetylene torch. Weld a little until heat builds up and there is danger of blowing through. Stop and hammer the weld from both sides. This smooths it and reduces the work later.

Most would probably use a wire feed or MIG welder. These can be dialed down so you can weld pieces of a tin can to one another.

You might be able to get by with a stick welder. Something with some mass made of copper or aluminum could be held behind the weld to absorb extra heat and prevent burning through.

In any event, the addage, "Weld a little, cool a lot." applies. If you watch them building gas tanks for motorcycles on the Discovery Channel, you notice they tack the pieces together leaving space between the welds. Later they go back and carefully fill in between the tack welds.

Old 12-18-05, 09:19 AM
foxracing500r
Visiting Guest
Now what about a spot welder, are they any good? And if not what are the main concerns with a Mig Welder? Like safety issues and such, I really dont want to blow myself up anytime soon, so I rather not use a Gas welder. Thanks

Old 12-18-05, 12:39 PM
lutheranpastor