6011 rod

Old 02-08-06, 05:18 PM
R
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
6011 rod

I'm a fairly experienced welder and can do any process(MIG.TIG, Stick, O/A).
But i can't get a 6011 rod to work well for me, I'll stick it all day before i'll get a continous arc. I can use any other rod (6013, 7014, 7018, etc.) with no problem. Why do i have trouble with this 6011 rod?

Old 02-08-06, 07:04 PM
B
it is a digging rod..unlike the other rods you mentioned that are really a drag rod...i mean you lay them on the steel and steer them..6011 sigs in and will stick because it is actually burrying itself in the metal and smothering out...learn to whip it a little or turn your heat up.. it requires a little more attention to use than those drag rods...it is a quick freeze rod..it hardens faster than 70xx rods you can use most other rods this one just takes a little practice...it is an excellant rod for digging your first pass into rusty material

Old 02-08-06, 09:13 PM
Billie_Boy has it right - it will run smoother in the upper half of the range. For 1/8" size, I typically run between 100-120 amps DCEP. I expect it to dig and it does freeze back to a solid state more rapidly.
If I don't want the digging penetration, I switch over to 6013 or 7014 which are contact rods.

Old 02-08-06, 09:55 PM
G
What's the name and model number of the welder your trying to use this rod on ?
AC or DC
220 volt machine ?
Do you have HI and Low tap on the machine ?

Old 02-09-06, 02:18 PM
R
I run a lincoln ac225.

Old 02-10-06, 05:39 PM
B
6011 should burn in either ac or dc...your machine is fine
in my opinion (that aint much)

Old 02-15-06, 09:59 AM
G
I had similar problems trying to keep the arc going with the 6011 rod on a small welder so I gave up.
I picked up a second welder. Century AC/DC with HI and LOW jack

The 6011 rod requires a higher output voltage to keep the arc going.
If any of your cable connections are weak that will reduce the voltage. Check your cables.