DIY - Autobody work and welding

Old 03-23-06, 06:59 PM
S
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
DIY - Autobody work and welding

Hi there!

Im gonna try to give as much detail as possible so I can get the adequate help.
I own a 93 honda civic which is rusting very bad in the rear wheel wells. I live in Canada and it is very harsh weather here with the salt and snow on cars in general.

Anyway, my car is fairly old and I purchased it for $2500 in 2001. The engine still runs perfectly and I dont want to get stuck with car payments since Im a student. With that being said, I dont want to bring my car to an autobody shop since it is too costly considering the car's age.

I have attempted to do bondo work before on the car, but the rust came back very quickly...and yes, i did a fast job and regretting now. So now I would like to do a proper job by cutting and welding new sheet metal.

I have tried to do some research and figured out that I needed a MIG welder for welding thin pieces of metal. I went to home depot today to see if they rent out welders and to my surprise they dont!

So now im a little bumbed out. Is this common? I always thought you can rent out welders for a weekend. Im gonna try to call a few more rental places.

Anyway, I was looking around and saw this welder for $100 (reg. $179) - its not a MIG, but an ARC welder. Can this be used for my application? Or it is way too difficult for a novice? I knows it offly cheap for a welder, but I dont plan on doing any major welding as a hobby. I took a shop class in high school and it included a section on welding - that's the only experience I have.

here's the link on this welder:
http://www.canadiantire.ca/assortmen...romSearch=true