120 or 240 volts

Old 03-26-06, 09:35 PM
T
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
120 or 240 volts

Hey everybody, new on this board...

I've read a ton of threads, and also the sticky, but I'm still very unclear.

I have no experience welding, but I'd like to get in to it. Not hardcore, just little stuff. I have an old VW dune buggy, that needs floor pan replacing badly (rusted out). Originally I was going to just pay someone to do it for me, but I've done everything else on my buggy, and I'd like to keep it that way. Makes me appreciate my baby much more!

So I'm looking at getting a cheap MIG, my only question is would 120 volts be ok for doing things like floor pans and other small stuff? Or do I need to go with the higher voltage?

I was looking at something like this:

http://www.sears.com/sr/javasr/produ...0&tab=des#tabs

Its cheap, but its Craftsman so I would trust it.

Also, it just says "wire-feed", I'm assuming its still MIG, no?

Old 03-28-06, 06:42 PM
R
Hi,
Replacing floor pans is the dirtyiest, messiest job that you could ever take on while working on a car. It would cost thousands for you to get someone to do a good job and even more if they did a bad job.
That craftsman puts out about 80amps so don't think of doing anything thicker than 3/16 inch, but thin sheet metal like 18 ga. the craftsman should do fine. It is only designed for use with flux core wire, NOT A MIG, which means that you can't use a shieling gas with a solid wire. The thinest metal i've ever welded was 22ga. with 0.030 flux core in my lincoln sp135 plus . MIG is definatly the best for sheet metal but flux core will do. If you plan on doing a bit of welding here and there, i suggest that you pay the extra $200 or so and buy a lincoln sp135 for $450 and then you could buy a tank of argon/co2 and you could do almost anything with it. plus that machine could last you years, while the cheap craftsman may only last a couple of years.

Hope that helps,
Charles
CHUCKS KUZTOMS