SIP weldmate 100 arc welder help

Old 05-06-06, 08:57 PM
S
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
SIP weldmate 100 arc welder help

i have been given an SIP weldmate 100 arc welder and i cant figure out if it is an ac or dc current. sounds silly but im a newbie and need info. any would help -mike

Old 05-06-06, 10:10 PM
G
Assuming its about 70 to 100 amp output.
If its a stick welder with a heavy transformer the output is more then likely AC.
If its a light weight inverter stick welder its DC output.

If its a wire feed welder its DC output.

If your getting a wire welder get one with at least 4 heat settings.

Old 05-07-06, 07:41 AM
Super Moderator
Received 65 Likes on 60 Posts
Mike,

Is this what your welder looks like?

Click image to see more welders:

Image credit: farmcare.com

The one shown is an AC welder but is the 160 model. They likely don't make the 100 model anymore.
Your welder would do well with 1/16" rods. 6013 would be a good type to start out with.
This unit will be good for thin material.
Keep in mind that the links I gave are Australian and the input voltage may be different than yours.
Also, make sure it has the proper electrical approvals to be allowed to be used where you are.
In Canada we often see imported items that do not have our required approvals.

I own a welder that I bought at a garage sale for $30.00 that looks exactly like the one pictured above, is 120 volt power supply and rated at 70 amps.
I have used it a couple of times, once to weld the handle on a tiller at a friend's place, where it did a pretty good job.
I will say though that the very low power and instability of this type of machine makes it tricky to strike and maintain a steady arc even with the bit of experience I have with welding.
Maybe yours with a bit more power than mine would be easier.

Here is another similar model number but adding trade to the model name you gave makes it a mig welder.

Click image:

Image credit: mygarden.net

Any questions just ask.