new welder

Old 05-24-06, 03:33 AM
G
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation new welder

i am going on my sixth day in weld school at the shipyard i work at, and the few instructors at the weld school barely speak english so i am basically learning by watching and really getting no instrucion. i just started learning vertical weld where i have to fit two eighteen inch by eight inch plates (1/4 inc thick) together to make a T and then weld the joints and i have to say this is extremely difficult!!!!!!! i keep getting alot of undercut and my weld doesnt flow.we use 1018(i think that is the number) stick and i run at about 120 with the stick at a 45 degree angle. if anyone has some pointers i am all ears cause im stumped and passing this class means a four dollar raise for me, thanks!!!!!

Old 05-24-06, 08:53 AM
F
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
i haven't stick welded in a while. sounds like you are not moving the rod fast enough or your heat setting is too high. the most important thing is practice. you have to get a feel for laying the bead.

Old 05-24-06, 02:49 PM
R
I bet you were/are using a 7018 electrode not a 1018. you want to start at the bottom of the metal and work your way up, this is called vet. up. drag the electrode up making an upside down U at the arc, the end of the rod. if you are using a 1/8 rod 120amps is at the high end of the heat settings. I'm not a stick welder, mostly MIG but i've done a lot of stick in the past, so i'm sure somebody should be able to give you a bit more help.

Charles

Old 05-24-06, 02:58 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post