Learning Basic welding?

Old 01-16-07, 10:03 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Learning Basic welding?

Are there classes for DIY, hobbiest arc welding, short of a full blown certification?

Or is this something you can pick up a good book on, invest in some low end arc welding gear and just jump in?

Im primarily interested in this as it might interest my 16 yr old son. I would of course surpervise and train him if self taught from book, but I myself have no experience either in welding.

Any thoughts?

Sponsored Links
Old 01-16-07, 11:15 AM
Received 4 Votes on 3 Posts
Trade school, or community education?

Our county has educational programs in this kind of thing: car repair, cooking, many activities, altho I haven't looked into welding. The benefit to this sort of thing is it's pretty cheap, and you'd get structured training in a variety of welding techniques with equipment that's working. Part of "structured" means you'd get the safety briefings as well, which is very important but might be inadvertently overlooked if you were to self-teach. And having a good instructor can make all the difference: "the book says this, but they really mean that".

They would also be able to point you in another direction or tell you how to take the next step if you want to pursue additional training. Enjoy!

Old 01-16-07, 01:24 PM
MUCH less frustration in learning if there is an experienced welder with some ability to mentor/teach available. Welding is largely practice, rather than being able to study the book and just do what it says to produce the perfect weld.

At 16, the need for early success is huge. Persistence will pay off but there's not usually much of that present in a 16 year-old.

Old 01-16-07, 02:18 PM
Originally Posted by IBM5081 View Post