Getting started

Old 12-29-08, 06:11 AM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Getting started

Can anyone get me started on home-improvement-type welding? Basically repairing yard tools, gates, and simple steel fabrication, possibly attaching holddowns to a steel trailer. No experience and I'm seeing the following stuff in stores but have no idea of what I need:

Arc Welders
Gas Welders
MIG Welders
Spot Welders

Is an ability to weld aluminum a step up?

Also, advice on DIY-type manuals.

Thanks!

Old 03-02-09, 05:40 PM
S
OK, I'm not getting any responses to this question since it was posted in December. Does anyone have any ideas as to why no responses? Any book recommendations to get me started?

Old 03-06-09, 02:55 PM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,153 Upvotes on 1,928 Posts
Probably did not get many responces since it was a "I'm just getting started... what do I need..." thread. Since you've posted back I assume the members will see that you are serious about learning welding.

I would get a MIG welder and focus on welding steel. It is easy to learn and has so many uses around the house. I've always been a big fan of buying a used brand name machine versus a new cheap one but if you are just doing odd jobs around the house a cheap one would probably work. Gassless with flux core wire will be the cheapest but I preffer to use gas so there is less smoke and a cleaner weld.

You can weld aluminum but it does require some additional equipment and you do not have a need for it as often. I'd save that purchase for later.

Old 03-08-09, 06:28 AM
S
Thanks! Care to list a few reliable brand names? Is Lincoln Electric one (Home Depot and Lowes)?

MIG is the same as wire-feed?

Old 03-08-09, 07:54 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,153 Upvotes on 1,928 Posts