Removing a broken nut from a tight place


  #1  
Old 03-10-15, 09:03 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Removing a broken nut from a tight place

Hi,

I've got an electric guitar, and unfortunately the screw nut that adjusts the toss rod got broken and the wrench has absolutely no grip on it.

The thing looks like on the below pictures:

[ATTACH=CONFIG]47825[/ATTACH]





I tried to clutch it with pliers, but the space is so small there, that I wouldn't be able to rotate the nut with pliers even if I could grasp it.

Any ideas how I could get it down ?
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 03-10-15, 10:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,638
Received 4,089 Upvotes on 3,672 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

That would be a truss rod. You're showing us three different pictures. The nut type could be standard or metric and is not a universal size. A hex key type system is also used.

We would need a close up of YOUR truss rod nut.
 
  #3  
Old 03-10-15, 11:03 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 27,237
Received 1,958 Upvotes on 1,755 Posts
the wrench has absolutely no grip on it.
Put a cheater bar (larger diameter pipe on/over) the wrench.
 
  #4  
Old 03-10-15, 11:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,638
Received 4,089 Upvotes on 3,672 Posts
No... don't use a cheater bar. The truss rod nut appears to be stripped.

This is a nut that is on a threaded rod that goes thru the neck of the guitar to adjust its straightness. If that nut is stripped you are in trouble.

We need a picture of it to further comment on it.
 
  #5  
Old 03-10-15, 11:13 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 27,237
Received 1,958 Upvotes on 1,755 Posts
Why would he say the wrench has no grip... does he mean the nut just spins cuz of it being stripped?
 
  #6  
Old 03-10-15, 11:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,638
Received 4,089 Upvotes on 3,672 Posts
I believe the nut is stripped at this point. A very common problem when the incorrect wrench is used.

If it's a Gibson it uses a brass nut on a 10-32 rod.

Name:  truss.JPG
Views: 440
Size:  23.5 KB
 
  #7  
Old 03-11-15, 05:23 AM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 27,237
Received 1,958 Upvotes on 1,755 Posts
Oh I see, so maybe the outside corners of the nut are rounded? Well if he's lucky he can find the correct sized socket if it's a metric size and tap it down onto the brass nut. If it's the threads that are stripped, would a needle nose pliers help?
 
  #8  
Old 03-11-15, 06:36 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,807
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
If you have a bolt on neck, you might be able to release the bolt/threaded rod from the body end of the neck.
Even a solid neck should have some access to neck at body. Remove either the pick guard and pick ups, or the back pick up cover.
 
  #9  
Old 03-11-15, 08:42 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Its a Jackson Js20. Unfortunately I lent my camera to a friend and I can't make a photo now, but I found a pic and it looks exactly like this, except that the nut is fully worn out and rounded:

 
  #10  
Old 03-11-15, 09:23 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 27,237
Received 1,958 Upvotes on 1,755 Posts
Perhaps a bolt extractor would fit over the rounded nut. Not sure, it looks pretty tight.

Bolt Extractors - Tools - IRWIN TOOLS

Getting the right size bolt extractor for your but would be the trick.
 
  #11  
Old 03-11-15, 09:41 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,807
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
What are you trying to do? Adjust the action or the intonation?

This can sometimes be done from the bridge. Do you have a Floyd Rose Tremolo Bridge or just a regular fixed bridge?
 
  #12  
Old 03-12-15, 01:16 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,638
Received 4,089 Upvotes on 3,672 Posts
The Jackson uses a 7mm socket.
 
  #13  
Old 03-12-15, 07:33 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,415
Received 65 Upvotes on 56 Posts
Pliers

Try locking pliers such as this:

http://www.harborfreight.com/6-inch-...ers-39715.html
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: