Mig weld aluminium sheet?

Old 03-02-21, 04:07 PM
Q
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Mig weld aluminium sheet?

I'm trying to make a submersible stove for a wood hot tub (spring project).
I've seen that mig is not great at welding thin aluminum sheet. However, I'm a beginner welder and mig is the easiest of the options.
Do you think it'll work for a 16 guage sheet?
or better still... Flux

I guess the alternative is propane and a stick? Kind of long though.

Old 03-03-21, 03:51 AM
Super Moderator
Received 68 Upvotes on 62 Posts
It is possible to weld aluminum using a mig welder with Argon as a shielding gas.
It does take a bit of skill and is more difficult on thin material.
TIG is easier to control but I am not sure its worth investing in for a single project.
Aluminum solder would be too difficult to use and would likely not stand up.

If you visit a scrap yard there is a good chance you could find an aluminum or SS tank or box that would only need to be modified.

Old 03-03-21, 04:48 AM
Q
What about propane and aluminum flux rods or is this what you meant by solder?

Old 03-03-21, 05:36 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,144 Upvotes on 1,920 Posts
Aluminum is horrible for a firebox. There is a reason you never see aluminum wood stoves or anything aluminum in a wood fire. The heat is WAY too much for aluminum. You can experiment yourself by having a bonfire and put in an empty aluminum can. By the end of the evening there will only be a blob where the can used to be.

No, you can not solder a firebox. The fire's temperature is high enough to melt the solder. It might be OK in the under water portions but you've still got the solder joints above the waterline that can melt. You really need to weld and make it out of steel.

Old 03-03-21, 05:55 AM
Q
Pilot - The aluminium is under water. It doesn't even get hot - all the heat is transferred to the water of the tub. Has to be something that doesn't rust.