Septic Lift Pump Alarm

Old 03-23-04, 10:24 AM
Rick007
Visiting Guest
Septic Lift Pump Alarm

Hello,

I am new to septic systems. I would appreciate information on how the lift pump alarm works and what it senses when it turns on. In a junction box that is in the line that goes to what I presume is outside pump is a buzzer and a light. The incomming 120 V line is opened in the junction box and the hot side goes to 1) the light 2) the buzzer and 3) the outgoing. I don't have the details of the rest of the connection but I hope someone knowledgeable will know how the circuit works. I think, but am not completely sure, that the light and buzzer are in series with the hot wire (make sense?). While I wait for some help, I have turned off the breaker to the lift pump. Is that wise?

Thanks to anyone who can give me some details on how this works.

Rick

Sponsored Links
Old 03-23-04, 06:52 PM
Septic Lift Pump Alarm

Although I can't be 100% sure, I think what you have is a light and buzzer hooked up to a float switch that works when the level in the sewage tank is too high.
Normally, there are float switches that turn the pump off and on, and floats that are wired to the alarm system.
If you're getting a high alarm, and you're not sure of what you have, I would suggest that you get a pump repair person out to the location and have them check it out.
Ron

Old 03-23-04, 07:30 PM
Super Moderator
You don't really say what your problem is.

Because you are asking about an alarm and you turned off the pump I will assume the alarm is sounding.

Most alarms use a float switch in the septic tank that is slightly above the float that operates the pump.

If you look in the septic tank you may find the level is above normal.

Old 03-24-04, 11:09 AM
Rick007
Visiting Guest
Thanks to both of you for the response.