Pressure requirement in tank?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-16-04, 05:04 PM
mgspeed
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Pressure requirement in tank?

I'm new to the prospect of well ownership (I just replaced the salt in the softner for the first time today), and I'm trying to figure out what the pressure is supposed to be inside my tank. I have a bladded tank, and a jet pump on a deep well. I'm not sure, and don't know how to tell what size my tank is. Right now the pressure is about 23 psi.
Thanks for being there for us!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-16-04, 05:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,051
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The correct pressure for the bladder tank is 2 psi less than cutin pressure (i.e. 30 psi cutin: precharge is 28 psi.)
Watch your pump pressure gauge to see what the cutin is.
When you check the tank or add or remove air, the pressure tank needs to be completely drained.
Regardless of tank size the precharge is still set the same way.
Ron
 
  #3  
Old 12-17-04, 01:07 PM
mgspeed
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks Pumpman. When I checked the pressure to get the reading of 23 psi the system was under pressure. After draining the system to repair a pipe leak that the previous owner thought he could tape, I checked and found the tank at 0 psi. I just want to make sure that what your saying is that with the system drained the reading should be at 2 psi below whatever the cut in pressure is for the pump.
Thanks again.
 
  #4  
Old 12-17-04, 01:40 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

I just want to make sure that what your saying is that with the system drained the reading should be at 2 psi below whatever the cut in pressure is for the pump.
You got it go for it. 2 lb under what ever you will set the cut in psi at.

ED
 
  #5  
Old 12-17-04, 04:28 PM
nomind's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: langley, in sunny fraser valley, bc , near vancouver
Posts: 1,133
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi everybody.
-at the risk of sounding simple, - I noted that nobody pointed out to Mgspeed that his reading of 2psi less, HAS to be the reading at the TOP of the tank. As he's a newbie to wells he may not be aware of this.
-Didn't mean to offend anyone , it's just that I've learned it's best to be precise about what we're talking about when helping newbie's who may be non-technical.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: