pressure tank

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-06-05, 05:45 PM
boynamedsu
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
pressure tank

undefined
I have the classic pump comes on everytime I turn the water on, and I just got a new pump in November. I checked the pressure (with well off and water cut off) and it read about 20#s and the cut off is suppose to be 28#s. Should I attempt to add air pressure with an air pump or should I just break down and buy a new pressure tank?

And....if I buy a new tank and the manufacturer says it is pre-set at 38#s do I just let the air out until it gets to 28....the required 2#s below my pump cut in of 30#?
 
  #2  
Old 05-06-05, 05:52 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

With the well off and the water all out the tank should read 2 lb below cut psi.

I have the classic pump comes on everytime I turn the water on,
Bladder bad or no air over it in tank.

ED
 
  #3  
Old 05-06-05, 06:01 PM
boynamedsu
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
so Ed....does that mean I need to go ahead and change my tank? or can I try to add air pressure? It is also a vertical tank that, because of a low crawl space is in a horizontal position.....I have found a horizonal tank so I think that will be better.....
 
  #4  
Old 05-06-05, 06:44 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

If you get water out of the schrader for sure you need a new tank.

ED
 
  #5  
Old 05-07-05, 08:42 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,049
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If your tank was holding 20 psi, then the bladder probably isn't bad. Add air and see if it helps the situation.
Ron
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: