Leaking Crawlspace

Old 03-25-06, 11:01 PM
M
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Arrow Leaking Crawlspace

Hello. This is my first time here so if there are rules on length of posts that I don't know about....sorry for the long post.

My house is situated on a rectangular lot (urban environment) which is part of a hillside that slopes towards the back of the house. I have a french drain installed that is parallel to the back of the house, but I am still getting groundwater coming into the crawlspace during heavy rains. The situation is not helped by the fact that my foundations are in marginal condition (there are settlement cracks in the concrete up to Ĺ in. thick due to expansive clays and effluoresence in the concrete). Another complication may be the way the ground slopes. The low spot is at one corner of the house (NE corner), while there is a high(er) spot at the other corner of the house (NW corner) and at 90 degrees from the NE corner. In other words, the house is at about a 45-degree angle to the steepest slope. I should also mention that the house has a daylight basement along the back side of the house. There are concrete steps from this basement down into the crawlspace, which has a concrete slab at the bottom of the stairs and the three spread footings for the house. The middle footing has a pretty big vertical crack in it that water is visibly seeping through even though this crack is located about 15 feet from the back of the house. I donít know how deep the footings are along the back side of the house. I should also mention that the amount of water coming in is minimal. The worse case has been Ĺ inch.

My thoughts and questions on this are the following:
1. Do I have the French drain in the wrong place (horizontally and/or vertically)?