Replacing pressure tank.

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-19-06, 09:46 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing pressure tank.

Hi, I am replacing the existing 20 Gal. pressure tank because of a rust/rot issue. The new one is a fiberglass 30Gal. I have i/2 Hp a jet pump with switch, a gauge that reads around 30psi and a black rubber hose 1"o.d. that runs from the pump the pressure tank T . Can you tell me what I need in supplies starting from the jet pump, and do I need to do anything special to the new tank?

Thanks in advance, this site is super! Great job.

Paul
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-19-06, 11:35 AM
Niadh's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 223
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You should be able to unscrew the tank tee from the old tank and put it on the new tank. If so you wouldn't need anything new except some teflon tape for the pipe threads. Depending on age or condition of the components you may want to replace a few of them. Here is a link to a modern tank tee setup with the components labeled so you can compare what you have to it (http://db.homelinux.org/share/incoming/tank-fittings.gif).

The black water line in-between the pump and tank is probably plastic. You use barbed connectors to hook them to the tee. Since you have an existing setup you should be able to reuse them. To disconnect the plastic pipe you may have to heat it.

The only thing you'll have to do to the tank is set the air pressure in it to match your pressure switch settings.
 
  #3  
Old 09-20-06, 07:05 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, I'll let you know how it goes.

Paul
 
  #4  
Old 09-20-06, 08:16 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

If thats a air to water tank just turn it back on and thats it. If it is a bladder tank then you have to set the air psi in it 2lb less then cut in psi of the pump .Dont get that 30 psi? most switches are 20 lb psi 0n and 40 lb psi off.

ED
 
  #5  
Old 09-24-06, 06:35 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi, The psi pressure for the tank is a reading empty or full ??

Paul
 
  #6  
Old 09-24-06, 08:02 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

The psi on the tank is when its full.. BUT BUT if the is a air to water tank 0 psi empty. When full and pump offshould read the 40psi but will be half full water and half full of air.

ED
 
  #7  
Old 09-25-06, 08:09 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,049
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The precharge that Ed alluded to is set with the tank completely empty.
Ron
 
  #8  
Old 09-26-06, 09:43 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks guys.

Paul
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: