need porky's help!!!!

Old 05-17-08, 12:03 PM
W
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
need porky's help!!!!

to porky:

i hope you don't mind if i pick at your brain. we are trying to successfully drill a water well in an area that is known for it's bad geologic conditions. we run an air rotary machine using 8 5/8" bit on 8" mincon hammer with stablizer for the casing hole. the formations are very fractured and unstable. the 1st hole went crooked, and we lost some of the casing down the hole. it ripped as we tried to auger it down. this has been the case on 8 holes now. we are at a loss as to what to try. any advise would be taken to heart.

Old 05-17-08, 05:00 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Are you an actual well driller, by trade?

Have you contacted your local gov't agencies? Or other well drillers? Or well drilling association?

As a last resort you coud try to ask someone like Exxon-Mobil how they manage to drill staright down through anything for thousands of feet.

Old 05-17-08, 08:32 PM
W
i am an actual well driller by trade. my boss and the owner of the company is going on about 26 yrs of experience and has never encountered anything of the sort. DNR has told us that it is an area known to be problematic. i am seeking porky's opinion and advise as a master driller.

Old 05-18-08, 02:24 PM
P
Porky here!

I don't mind assisting you at all. If you are getting crooked holes using a DHH and stabalizer you are in a problem area.

Cable tool drilling is still the preferred method for fractured and unstable formations, however it is slower.

I usually advise drillers with these problems to move. . . about 20 miles. Smiling!

I suspect the casing that split was PVC. My experience has been if you have to force PVC you have a real problem.

I'm sure you get the "National Driller". Read my "Porky's Hole Thoughts" stories usually around page 70. You can ask them how to reach Porky!

Old 05-18-08, 02:42 PM
W