square d 9013 fsg2 switch sticking


  #1  
Old 10-09-08, 02:48 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: cyprus
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
square d 9013 fsg2 switch sticking

I have this switch which is used to pump water around my house from a water tank.

The switch keeps "sticking " . I dont get any water pumping unless I tap the black box cover to the switch.

The problem is though once I have switched off a tap inside the house I have to tap the switch box cover again to get the water pumping again.

I have changed the switch and the problem is recurring

Any idea what may be causing the problem. Is it faulty switches or is there another problem ?

Need urgent help !
 
  #2  
Old 10-09-08, 03:35 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 61
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would suspect a clog in the pressure line to the bottom of the switch. Either that or something fouling the points (contacts) carbon deposits can build up on them relatively fast or it could be small bugs such as ants getting in there also.
If you are so inclined you can turn off the power to the pressure switch, remove the cover, and clean the contacts with an emory board (finger nail file). I usually just push the contacts closed with the file beteen them and pull the file out a couple of times on each set of contacts.

B
 

Last edited by waterwelldude; 10-09-08 at 06:08 PM.
  #3  
Old 10-09-08, 04:05 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: cyprus
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
where do I find the pressure line ?
 
  #4  
Old 10-09-08, 07:48 PM
waterwelldude's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: S.E. Texas
Posts: 1,038
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It sounds like you just need a new switch. Cleaning them works sometime. If you have to keep taping it. It must be pitted pretty bad. It would be cheaper and a lot less of a head ache, if you just changed it.

1. Turn off the power to the well.
2. Drain off all the pressure.
3. Remove the wires.(Remember where they go)
4. Remove the switch.
5. Put the new switch on. A 20psi on 40psi off,,,or,,,30psi on 50psi off. Ether will be ok.
6. Put the wires back on.
7. Turn the power back on.

Hope this helps.

Travis
 
  #5  
Old 10-09-08, 11:14 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: cyprus
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Waterwell

I know this may be a stupid question but how do you know what the pressure settings are on the switch, is it marked on it some how ?
 
  #6  
Old 10-10-08, 11:17 AM
waterwelldude's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: S.E. Texas
Posts: 1,038
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you look under the lid, it should tell you what the cut in and cut out pressure is.


Travis
 
  #7  
Old 10-10-08, 12:46 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: cyprus
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks , I assume you mean under the plastic cover ?
 
  #8  
Old 10-11-08, 08:47 PM
V
Vey
Vey is offline
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mid-Florida
Posts: 1,343
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you buy a new switch, ($15-20) at any hardware store, all of your questions will be answered.

It will come with a diagram of how it works, instructions on how to set the pressure and -- maybe a new tube -- check before you leave the store and get one if it doesn't have a tube in the box.

Once you read the enclosed instruction sheet, all will be clear.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: