Water Well Trouble


  #1  
Old 11-20-08, 04:26 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Water Well Trouble

Ok, I have no clue what I am doing to check the brand and size of my pump and tank nor do i know the type of well I have or the depth, i just know that it isnt a submersible pump, and that the pump is only 2 years old but the tank is nearly 15 years old. Ok, here is the problem, we have water but at very low pressure but in the mornings we have none, we have to go to the pump and hit the box on the side of it (the points?) the get it to work, then it will work again, but with very low pressure and lots of air in the lines for the first few minutes, but the pump continually runs, even when we dont have water to the house. any suggestions as to what the problem could be. Could the points be bad, or is the tank not holding pressure, or is it possible the problem is a leak in the line from the well to the house? Any suggestions at all is helpful
 
  #2  
Old 11-20-08, 05:09 AM
V
Vey
Vey is offline
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mid-Florida
Posts: 1,343
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm going to guess that the bladder inside the tank is busted and that the water is affecting the pressure switch, which is inside the box you are banging.

There are ways of finding out of the bladder busted. Run a few searches here and you will get zillions of hits because it is a common problem.

Maybe someone else has a different guess?
 
  #3  
Old 11-20-08, 05:54 AM
V
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 162
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Air in the lines and low pressure means you probably do have a leak somewhere. You could also have a low producing well and you are pumping air but, with an above ground pump, you should be losing prime this way. The pump must not really run all the time if you have to hit the pressure switch to get it running. That problem could be the line going into the pressure switch being clogged up.

Model number of the pump, depth to water, and pressure switch on/off setting would help.
 
  #4  
Old 11-20-08, 03:39 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, the depth is approximately 45' but not positive on that, the pump is kicking on running for about 10 seconds then kicking off for a minute or so then kicking on for 10 seconds again, and repeats this cycle continually, the tank is not holding pressure and we are having to add air to it on occassion, when we first fill the tank, the water pressure is decent but nothing like what it should be or was before, it is a steal casing well with a whole house filter installed through a local water company that is hooked between the tank and the house. We had the same issue with the old pump until one of the blades broke off and locked up the pump motor. We have had continual issues with this well and the pump for the last 10 years. On another note, we live in the WV coalfields and alot of mining companies have been blasting about 15 miles from here, could that have possible caused the well to fill in?
 

Last edited by katrina9800; 11-20-08 at 05:00 PM.
  #5  
Old 11-20-08, 05:39 PM
Speedwrench's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,697
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
almost gauanteed that your bladder is bad on the pressure tank with those symptoms. you will also need to check as vey and valveguy have suggested on the other chances of problems.

life begins when the kids leave home and the dog dies
 
  #6  
Old 11-24-08, 04:02 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Update

Ok, we bought a new tank, just playing it safe since it was so old, but we still have the same problem, the gray box that we have to smack to get the pump going every morning says voltage on it, can that go bad, and if so can that be replaced without having to buy an entirely new pump and exactly what is it, is that where the points are located, or could it just be a faulty connection in the power source? The water pressure does seem to have gotten a bit stronger but the rapid cycle of the pump continues through out the day and then completely shuts down at night until we smack the box on the top of the pump.
 
  #7  
Old 11-24-08, 05:18 AM
V
Vey
Vey is offline
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mid-Florida
Posts: 1,343
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by katrina9800 View Post
Ok, we bought a new tank, just playing it safe since it was so old, but we still have the same problem, the gray box that we have to smack to get the pump going every morning says voltage on it, can that go bad, and if so can that be replaced without having to buy an entirely new pump and exactly what is it, is that where the points are located, or could it just be a faulty connection in the power source? The water pressure does seem to have gotten a bit stronger but the rapid cycle of the pump continues through out the day and then completely shuts down at night until we smack the box on the top of the pump.
It is called a pressure switch. It is available at just about any hardware store as well as any of the Big Box stores. Cost about $20 and should be replaced when the tank is replaced. If it is old, it is not worth fooling with the points, but to answer your question, that is where they are.

Should come with instructions. Choose the pressure you want when you buy one, either 30/50 or 40/60. 40/60 is nicer, but not all pumps can push that hard when they get older. Read the instructions that came with the tank and will come with the switch.

See this site:
http://www.inspect-ny.com/plumbing/PumpsWells.htm
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: