Getting a New Well Drilled - Advice?

Old 04-20-09, 03:54 PM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Getting a New Well Drilled - Advice?

I'm currently building a new house in a fairly rural area, at least rural enough that the water will be supplied by a well. I grew up with a well, but haven't used one in the last 15 years.

I'm meeting with a driller in a few days, and I'll probably line up a few different ones to compare bids. However, given that I'm an extreme newbie in this area, I was curious if there's any general advice that might be beneficial to me prior to meeting with the drillers?

Some basic info:
- 2 story house - 3 baths (will eventually have 4).
- Pressure and flow are important to me. My master bath will have a shower with several showerheads and body sprays. I think the manufacturer recommends at least 60PSI in the system.
- Probably goes without saying, but taste and color are important to me. I will be testing the water independantly after they drill, and I'm sure I'll have filter/treatment questions after that.
- I do not *plan* on having an irrigation system, but I also can't rule out that I might not want to put in one in the future.

Anyway - anything I should know up front? Any types of systems/designs/solutions I should push for and/or avoid?

I'm expecting this well to approach 200' based on conversations with the two closest neighbors. I live in the southeast, so lots of clay content in the soil.

Thanks in advance!

Old 04-20-09, 05:07 PM
V
Vey
1. TALK TO THE NEIGHBORS and the people in town. Ask who their well man is and why. Ask what kind of water they have and how deep their well is. Ask to use the bathroom and note how badly the bowl and sink is stained and what color(s). Blue and red are the usual suspects. In the country, everyone has some staining, you are looking for how bad it is. Ask if they use a water softener.