shared well question

Old 05-16-10, 11:16 AM
G
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Cool shared well question

Hi,
I am new to this forum after searching the net so here we go.
Here is my question and i hoping someone has a good idea.
Our home in on a shared well with a vacant piece of property that just recently sold. I am not an expert but the wells ratings are very good so we are not too concerned about the well providing enough water for both properties and i hoping the county knew what they were doing when they approved the sell. My question is with the 1 pump providing water to both property's that is using electricity that is on our meter what is the best way to figure how much to charge for the electricity use for the new property owners. We have a home and they will not be building for a few years but they are planning on putting in a few RV spots that will require water during the summer. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thank you, Frank

Old 05-16-10, 12:50 PM
W
I would request a separate elec. meter and then install a water meter and pay only for the amount of elec. it takes to pump the meter reading on your meter It may be a bit confusing but the only fair way I can think of I sure would not leave myself open to paying an elec. bill for water someone else is going to use.

Old 05-16-10, 01:25 PM
What I would be concerned with is whose property is the well on. Where I am there used to be a lot of common wells, but when one or the other property was sold they had to diconnect anything that wasn't on the same lot as the well.

I think you should check with your local jurisdition and find out what their rules are.

Old 05-16-10, 02:20 PM
R
Hi Frank,

Preferably, there is a written agreement governing use of shared facilities on real property. When one doesn’t exist, past practices (i.e., precedent) may guide a court should parties be unable to resolve a conflict, and one or more resort to litigation.