goulds 1/2 hp


  #1  
Old 08-27-10, 08:23 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Angry goulds 1/2 hp

figure this out and i'll buy you a beer. large elec bill,pump not meeting shut off pres and taking a long time to pump up and hold at forty lbs. swap out pump, new pump does the same. put orig. pump in diff. well, works fine. took the other pump hooked it up in my pond and filled my 30,000 gal pool. put it back in the well and it pumps but sounds like 1/2 speed. checked line voltage in well #10-3-black=115-white=115-red=0 w/pres switch on. i have two wells and tried switching controls and still made no diff. the well with the problem is 600' from the house and has 60' of head+ -. the other that works fine is 20' from the house and 20' of head hence my real problem its the middle of aug. and were now rationing water. ( about 60 hours to fill pool 40' head)
 
  #2  
Old 08-28-10, 09:29 AM
Z
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,104
Received 93 Upvotes on 85 Posts
hi rb Ė

I know nothing - and I donít really want to be an annoyance when you have a real problem here. But I had a really leaky well pipe and when I dug it up and replaced it the time to pump up my pressure tank was cut almost in half. Guess for a long time I was pumping half the water into the ground and the other half into the house.

Could your 600 foot pipe have a leak? Maybe I didnít understand your experiment and Iím in left field. Feel free to totally ignore this. Hope some real experts jump in here.

(I would have liked to earn that beer Ė but I donít think so.)

Good luck!
 
  #3  
Old 08-28-10, 02:26 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Angry

great thought , but already looked at that, any leak that bad would most likely surface. i have a hydrant at about five hundred feet from the well with a shut off before the pressure tank. with the valve off and pump on the hydrant runs at half force and i can stop it with my thumb over the hose.
 
  #4  
Old 08-28-10, 04:16 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 583
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
goulds

Souldn't black&red be hot, and white be neutral,or 0? Put an amp meter on the wirers, if its wired for 220 it may well be running at half speed. Just a thought.
Sid
 
  #5  
Old 08-28-10, 04:31 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southeast Wisconsin
Posts: 520
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Do you have the means to check the amp draw of the pump while running? Have you checked the wires going to the pump end to end or checked the voltage at the pump end?
 
  #6  
Old 08-28-10, 05:48 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 348
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
[QUOTE=rb5674;1762422] swap out pump, new pump does the same. put orig. pump in diff. well, works fine. took the other pump hooked it up in my pond and filled my 30,000 gal pool. put it back in the well and it pumps but sounds like 1/2 speed. ]

bared wire between the well head and the pump. your 220 pump is getting only 110 and the other 110 is leaking into the water i have seen this one other time, why it does not blow the breaker i don't know but it can happen.
 
  #7  
Old 08-29-10, 07:47 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 348
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
[QUOTE=billie_boy;1762690]
Originally Posted by rb5674 View Post
swap out pump, new pump does the same. put orig. pump in diff. well, works fine. took the other pump hooked it up in my pond and filled my 30,000 gal pool. put it back in the well and it pumps but sounds like 1/2 speed. ]

bared wire between the well head and the pump. your 220 pump is getting only 110 and the other 110 is leaking into the water i have seen this one other time, why it does not blow the breaker i don't know but it can happen.
i should have said "this could be your problem"
i have seen this at my dads place a few years back (10 or 12) a little too much slack in the wires going down to the pump and at start up when the torque comes on the pump "twists or jumps a lttle' and caused the wires to rub the casing, one wire wore through just a little and caused a huge electric bill and low water pressure
 
  #8  
Old 09-03-10, 08:32 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by pumpguy View Post
Do you have the means to check the amp draw of the pump while running? Have you checked the wires going to the pump end to end or checked the voltage at the pump end?
checked well conn. 4.5 amps each leg 115 volts/pump running
 
  #9  
Old 09-03-10, 03:56 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southeast Wisconsin
Posts: 520
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
How do those amp readings compare to what it's suppose to be? Voltage was good at pump end of wiring?
 

Last edited by pumpguy; 09-03-10 at 05:09 PM.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: