Well pump runs all day and night

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-27-11, 02:43 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well pump runs all day and night

My water pressure has been feeling weak lately so after going into the basement I realized that the well pump is running non-stop. The pressure tank was replaced about 6 months ago by a friend and when emptied has 38psi which is correct according to welltrol, the manufacturer. When I shut off valve to the house, the tank does not seem to fill up at all. There's a spigot at the bottom and when I shut pump and have valve to house off, then I open the spigot, pressure just drops to zero. Overall, the pressure never gets higher than 29 to 39 but that must only be the pressure that the pump is putting out, right? Also, when tank was replaced, he replaced the check valve, which at that time had a large pebble in it holding it wide open (which is odd). Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am afraid well pump will burn out very soon!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-27-11, 07:19 PM
waterwelldude's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: S.E. Texas
Posts: 1,038
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi


The tank needs to be set at 2psi under the on psi of the pressure switch....If the switch is 30 on and 50 off,, the pressure on in the tank should read 28psi. that is with all the water drained out.

With the pump running like that, it sounds like there may be something in the jet, it may be in the well or in the pump, just depends on the depth of the well, do you have a deep well the jet would be in the well, shallow well pump, the jet will be in the pump.

Or, on a bad note, the pump itself may be going bad.
 
  #3  
Old 01-27-11, 11:36 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,142
Received 60 Votes on 52 Posts
Water does not compress very well and if you open the tank valve and pressure goes to zero asap, I would say your tank is bad. Even though you state 38PSI. Double check that.


Mike NJ
 
  #4  
Old 01-28-11, 12:26 PM
V
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 40
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Do you have a submersible or jet pump?..this will make the problem a little easier to diagnose. Either way, the system is not able to generate enough pressure at the tank. So, either your pump is incapable of generating the pressure, or you have a leak between the pump and the tank.

The pre-charge on the tank is important, but it's not your problem here. That setting lets you maximize the drawdown of the tank, and nothing more. The tank would simply act like a larger or smaller size tank if the pre-charge was wrong.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: