Can a Square-D 9013 FSG2 30/50 be set to run 50/70?


  #1  
Old 07-08-11, 11:38 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Can a Square-D 9013 FSG2 30/50 be set to run 50/70?

Hi All,

I've lived in my current house four years so my knowledge of things done prior to then are unknown. I have to replace my well tank and was gathering info ahead of time. My pressure switch (according to the inside cover) is a Square-D 9013 FSG2, 30/50. However, watching the pressure gauge on the tank indicates the pump is coming on at 48 and turning off at 70. Can a 9013 FSG2 be adjusted that much to run at the higher levels? I suppose it is possible that crud has built up inside the tube for the pressure switch and could be affecting its measurement (the switch actually seeing only 30/50) but the 50/70 range seems too coincidental. I suppose its possible the cover on the P/S isn't the right one (maybe from previous work)...but I kinda doubt that. Obviously, I need to know were it should be running before I start so I can set the tank pre-load before filling it. I like the existing water pressure so I don't want to reduce it. Maybe while I'm at it I should just replace the P/S with one designed to run at 50/70? Any thoughts?
 
  #2  
Old 07-08-11, 08:34 PM
waterwelldude's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: S.E. Texas
Posts: 943
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Running 70psi is a bit high. 40/60 should be enough pressure to run about any water devise there is.
We try to tell people not to go above 60 or 65psi, after that some sinks and shower valves can start to drip.
If they do leak at first the life of the valves can be shorten.
Most tanks are not safe to run with more than 75psi.
 
  #3  
Old 07-09-11, 05:01 AM
V
Vey
Vey is offline
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mid-Florida
Posts: 1,201
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Higher pressure means more air in the tank and that means less water held in reserve. If the tank is on the smallish side (and many times they are to keep the cost down when installed) then your pump will be turning and off more often. Turning on and off is what wears out pumps.

I like 40/60. But I also understand that it needs a bigger tank so as not to shorten the life of the pump.
 
  #4  
Old 07-09-11, 10:24 AM
Z
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,103
Received 93 Upvotes on 85 Posts
hey bob

Im a newbie. The other guys that answered have the knowledge, but I was wondering if it would be a good idea to double check your gauge (but your point about 50-70 does seem logical)? I had a bad gauge that drove me off on a tangent and almost nuts.

I bought one of those cheapy gauges at Home Depot that you can screw on a hose bib. (I assume you must have a drain near the pressure tank.) It confirmed my gauge was bad. Bought a new gauge but also kept the HD gauge. I frequently compare the 2 to each other as a kind of rough check.

Just a thought! Good luck!
 
  #5  
Old 07-09-11, 02:16 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks everyone for your input. The current tank is not pressurized as far as I can tell, other than both in and out ports are fairly low which would allow for air to be trapped above the water level and compress a bit when it fills. That's why I'm replacing it with an Amtrol WX-203 (32 gallon). The original tank is just a galvanized 45 gallon holding tank I guess. Without a bladder in the tank the pump is on with just about every demand for water. The gauge was replaced when I bought the house (had them change it because it was defective). Based on input here, I think I'll use the existing pressure switch but see if I can adjust the range down 5-10 psi first. There is also no relief valve there in the existing setup, so I'll add one.
 
  #6  
Old 07-10-11, 04:44 PM
Z
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,103
Received 93 Upvotes on 85 Posts
Originally Posted by bobnh View Post
There is also no relief valve there in the existing setup, so I'll add one...
Whoops! You reminded me of something I said I was going to do a few years ago. Forgot all about it!lol

Good luck with your system!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: