Dirt in well water

Old 09-09-11, 04:21 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dirt in well water

Can i install a "whole house" water filter before or after my surge tank? Preferably before, but is there such a thing and can it withstand well pump pressure? My well is at least 75 years old, located in basement alcove right next to house, and i believe it's very deep and large enough to supply 30,000 gallons in four days time to my pool without any problems! We also just received 8"-10" of rain in past week, which is probably the root of the problem.

Old 09-09-11, 10:07 AM
Z
Received 43 Votes on 42 Posts
hi 56

Im a novice, not a pro by many miles. I have a well system and have learned just a little. If surge tank is the same as pressure tank then I would assume you have a tank with a pressure switch mounted near it that turns on the pump. If not then just ignore this (maybe you were going to anyway, lol).

I know you can get whole house sediment filters I have one. They are sized by the GPM rate that your pump delivers. So you have to know that before you pick a filter. Here is a link to an example of a sediment filter.

http://www.pentekfiltration.com/Pent...e%20310053.pdf

And as I said Im a novice, but my understanding is that you dont want anything that can impede the flow of water between the pump and the pressure switch. So a sediment filter between the pump and pressure switch would be incorrect as far as I understand. You would need to put the sediment filter after the tank and switch.

I know in my house if the sediment filter gets clogged up you notice a drop in water pressure at the fixtures and it s (past) time to change the filter. No harm. But I guess if my filter was before the tank/switch in that case, the pump and pressure switch would be seeing 2 very different pressures not good I guess. Maybe Im wrong, but it is probably something to at least check out anyway if you are in fact going to get a sediment filter.