Low pressure switch vs pressure switch for well


  #1  
Old 11-03-11, 11:05 AM
Terry's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Blanchard, OK USA
Posts: 111
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Low pressure switch vs pressure switch for well

I've been having a problem with my well pump cycling on and off. The pump is new so I replaced the pressure switch and I just noticed it says "Low Pressure
Switch" on the box.
I thought I picked up the box that had "Pressure
Switch" on it. Is this going to cause a problem for regular household water use?
 
  #2  
Old 11-03-11, 12:28 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,190
Received 78 Upvotes on 70 Posts
Hi,

Can you post the make and model of the pressure switch? We can help you better with this info.

Also most times the cause of well pumps cycling on and off rapidly is failure of the well tank.

The well tank will need its air charged checked. So if you have not chaged the pressure switch hold off until you check the tank.

How to Check a Water Bladder's Tank Pressure | eHow.com

Also I believe there is a sticky poston how to check the tank at the top of the main page of this forum.


Post #2 here.

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/we...well-info.html
Mike NJ
 
  #3  
Old 11-03-11, 01:43 PM
Terry's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Blanchard, OK USA
Posts: 111
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Sorry, I left out all of the details because I had already checked the tank and noticed this switch thing after replacing the old one and wanted to find out if I'm going to have to get a regular pressure switch rather than this Low pressure switch before going any farther.
I bought it at Lowes for convenience reasons. The brand is ProPlumber 30-50 PSI.
 
  #4  
Old 11-03-11, 02:11 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,190
Received 78 Upvotes on 70 Posts
Thats a low pressure type switch. If the well ever fails to produce water and the pressure falls under a certain psi the well pump will switch off. The only way to reset the pump to come back on is to physically reset the lever.

They are more trouble then good IMO.

Why dont you return it and get a regular switch.

This is a 40/60. Not sure you posted what your pressure settings are.

Shop ProPlumber 40/60 Pressure Switch at Lowes.com=

Mike NJ
 
  #5  
Old 11-03-11, 04:46 PM
Terry's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Blanchard, OK USA
Posts: 111
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The old switch is a 30/50 switch.
 
  #6  
Old 11-03-11, 04:50 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,190
Received 78 Upvotes on 70 Posts
So get a 30/50 switch then. W/O the low pressure cut off. You can tell because it will not have that little handle on the side.

Shop ProPlumber 30/50 Pressure Switch at Lowes.com


Mike NJ
 
  #7  
Old 11-04-11, 11:38 AM
Terry's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Blanchard, OK USA
Posts: 111
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
My plumber was here a few weeks ago and he said he adjusted the tank pressure because it was too low. I didn't ask him what he adjusted it to but I just checked and it was at 42psi. With a 30/50 switch shouldn't it be at 28 or 29?
 
  #8  
Old 11-04-11, 01:46 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,190
Received 78 Upvotes on 70 Posts
switch shouldn't it be at 28 or 29?
You need to check with the system drained. The reading will not be correc t otherwise. The pressure gets set a few psi below the cut in pressure.

Mike NJ
 
  #9  
Old 11-04-11, 03:21 PM
Terry's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Blanchard, OK USA
Posts: 111
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I turned the pump off and drained all the water before I checked it.
 
  #10  
Old 11-04-11, 03:38 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,190
Received 78 Upvotes on 70 Posts
At what pressures doe the pump kick off and on at according to your pressure gauge?

Mike NJ
 
  #11  
Old 11-04-11, 06:05 PM
Terry's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Blanchard, OK USA
Posts: 111
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I turned the washing machine on and watch the gauge on the line close to where the pressure switch is and the switch clicked on at 37 and went off at 53. The gauge would stay at 53 for a few seconds and then drop quickly to around 43 and continue to drop until it reached 37.
I thought it would click on at 30 and off at 50. Do I need to adjust the switch so that it's more accurate or maybe buy a new gauge?
 
  #12  
Old 11-04-11, 06:21 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,190
Received 78 Upvotes on 70 Posts
The gauge could be off but seems OK.

The plumber probably turned up the cut in. And if the gauge is accurate and there is indeed 42psi in the tank then you may lose water for a breif moment when using water. You would notice on the gauge that before it kicks on it may go down to 0 psi for a brief moment.

With the 30-50 switch you should be able to adjust it to 40-60. As long as your pump can build 60 psi you should have no issues.

The psi spread should be at least 20 psi though.

Mike NJ
 
  #13  
Old 11-04-11, 07:27 PM
Terry's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Blanchard, OK USA
Posts: 111
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
When I turned the pump off and drained the water from the tank, the gauge only went as low as 12psi. What does that mean? It never went as low as zero.
 
  #14  
Old 11-04-11, 08:21 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,190
Received 78 Upvotes on 70 Posts
Replace the gauge. Then post back pressure readings. Although it may just be stuck. Give it a tap. Does it go to 0 psi? They are cheap enough you should replace it anyway. You may have more pressure then you think.

Mike NJ
 
  #15  
Old 11-05-11, 10:45 AM
Terry's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Blanchard, OK USA
Posts: 111
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The new gauge started at zero with the pump off and the tank drained. The switch cut in at 26 psi and cut off at 45 psi.
It takes about 20 seconds to reach 45 psi and around 20 seconds to go back down to 26 psi. Isn't that short cycling?
 
  #16  
Old 11-05-11, 11:05 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,190
Received 78 Upvotes on 70 Posts
Isn't that short cycling?
No not really, but the air charge in the tank should be set to about 22-23 psi if your going to leave these pressure setting.

How big is the well tank? A bigger tank will get you longer times between drain and fill.

Mike NJ
 
  #17  
Old 11-05-11, 12:20 PM
Terry's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Blanchard, OK USA
Posts: 111
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I'm going to set the cut in at 30 and the cut off at 50.
The pressure tank is a 20 gal.
 
  #18  
Old 11-09-11, 07:25 PM
Terry's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Blanchard, OK USA
Posts: 111
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I've noticed that after adjusting the air pressure in the tank, the next day it will have about 5 psi more than I reduced it to the day before. What causes that to happen?
 
  #19  
Old 11-09-11, 09:08 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,190
Received 78 Upvotes on 70 Posts
When you set the tank pressure you are setting it with the pump off and the water drained. That is the accurate air charge reading. Once you turn the pump on and water fills the tank the pressure will go up.

When the pump starts and fills the tank the pressure will rise because the air is being compressed. So if your checking the air while the tank is full, it could read anything really. Depending on what your main pressure gauge reads.


Mike NJ
 
  #20  
Old 11-10-11, 08:06 AM
Terry's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Blanchard, OK USA
Posts: 111
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I turn off the pump and drain the tank before I check the air pressure.
I also leave the line open after draining the water, would that have any affect on the pressure?
 
  #21  
Old 11-11-11, 04:46 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: ne FL
Posts: 184
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
when tank is drained, shake it to make sure its completely empty. could be getting water on the wrong side of the bladder.
 
  #22  
Old 11-11-11, 07:26 PM
Terry's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Blanchard, OK USA
Posts: 111
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I drained the tank and it had 3 more psi than yesterday. I shook the tank and it felt heavy but I only heard a small water slosh in the bottom. I tapped the tank and it sounded like air at the top third, a solid sound at the bottom and in the middle it had a different sound . It wasn't empty and it wasn't full, kind of in between.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: