Loud bang in well pump

Old 02-16-12, 09:21 PM
G
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Loud bang in well pump

I have a 100' deep well with 1/2 horse submersable pump with built-in check
valve, also a check valve at the head of the pump, and one at the surface in the pipe. After the pump starts running, there is no pressure increase for a few seconds, then I hear a loud knock or bang, then the water starts flowing in the pipe and the pressure builds up to the 60 pounds. It sounds like a pressure valve has been stuck, and finally pops open. This problem developed a few months ago, after about 3 years of operating normally.
What is this delay and subsequent bang or knock before the pressure starts building? Would this indicate a flawed pressure valve? Or pump defect?

Sponsored Links
Old 02-17-12, 04:33 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Welcome to the forums! I am by no means a pump expert, but have installed a few in my years. It does sound as if a check valve is sticking. The banging noise is probably coming from ill fitted snubbers on the pipe in the hole. I am assuming this is a small bore well. You can't do too much with the valve at the pump head, but what if you removed the one at the top and replaced it with a length of pipe, temporarily. If it is the culprit, then you can replace it if necessary. Often a check valve at the top wouldn't be necessary since you have basically double protection at the pump itself. Let us know what happens.

Old 02-17-12, 07:24 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Depending on the type of set up you have, you may not be able to remove the check valve at the top.
If the pressure switch and a sniffer/sheadervalve are in the check valve on top, you will need to leave it there.
It does sound as if you may have a hole in the drop pipe or a leaking check valve in the well.
Have you noticed more air in the tank than it would normally have?