Need help with submersible pump ? or is it well x trol tank malfunction?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-03-13, 07:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Angry Need help with submersible pump ? or is it well x trol tank malfunction?

Noticed low water pressure tonight after some investigation found that pressure switch clogged up with sediment and black mineral looking deposits. Removed and replaced also 1/4 connecting pipe totally rusted shut. Checked tank bladder holding at 28psi. Turned power back on only registering 24psi at pressure valve. Took that off replaced and new one reads the same. At this time knocked on trol tank 1/4 of tank at bottom sounds different??? Sediment possibly?? Turned power back on with new gauge and switch still only registering 24psi. House line after trol shut no pressure loss for 30 min now (assuming no problem with line into house from pump in well to house). Don't know what kind of pump down in well casing put in aprox.9-10 years ago when well installed by previous owners we bought place in 05. ??? Could there be a vacuum in line?? Pump bad?? Trol x tank full of sediment?? HELP
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-03-13, 08:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Bladder holding 28psi is good for a 30-50psi pressure switch.

When you turn power on the gauge goes up to 24psi and then the pressure switch turns off pump or is the pump still running and the pressure won't increase ?

The pressure switch sets the system operating pressure. Even if there was no tank.... the pressure should still rise to 50psi.
 
  #3  
Old 11-03-13, 10:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Post

Pressure will not increase 30/50 pressure switch won't even hit lower limit pump still running can hear it hum with stethoscope (nursing) on incoming line
 
  #4  
Old 11-03-13, 10:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I figured that it would go up to 50 or so but it just won't. Sorry for delayed reply have been pulling water out of old hand dug well from 1800's to water barn animals
 
  #5  
Old 11-04-13, 06:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is anyone out there problem still happening
 
  #6  
Old 11-04-13, 08:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
can someone help with submersible well pump problem?

Posted last night need help please
 
  #7  
Old 11-04-13, 08:47 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,962
Received 37 Votes on 32 Posts
Hello... Yes we can help, but whats the issue?
 
  #8  
Old 11-04-13, 08:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pump in well only pushing 24 psi replaced pressue gauge and switch, ****ch nipple was rusted shut, ckd xtroll tank no sloshing holding 28psi pulled well cap? Pump depth, no ohm mter, ? What next, banging my head
 
  #9  
Old 11-04-13, 08:58 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,962
Received 37 Votes on 32 Posts
I merged your threads together... Let me have a look and read these posts .. one moment..
 
  #10  
Old 11-04-13, 09:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No control box for pump? Check valve sticking in pump maybe? Does hold line pressure when shut water off after xtrol ? I don't think that those pumps can get a vacuum in the line can they?
 
  #11  
Old 11-04-13, 09:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, thanks I'll wait for reply
 
  #12  
Old 11-04-13, 09:09 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,962
Received 37 Votes on 32 Posts
You have to have a control box... And you need an ohm meter...

First step is to test the motor. Your pump was probably cycling so much because of failure to maintain the tank and switch properly that it has seen it day....

It may be best to call in a pro, but here are the test procedures.

TESTING SUBMERSIBLE PUMP MOTORS
 
  #13  
Old 11-04-13, 09:10 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,962
Received 37 Votes on 32 Posts
Once you test the pump, and if that comes OK then you can suspect other things...

And again there must be a control box somewhere...
 
  #14  
Old 11-04-13, 09:15 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trust me there is no conrol box only yellow 10/2 coming in to switch, out top of well housing and directly attached to wires running down well to pump, can I diagnose if I just pull pump? No ohm meter no second vehicle hit a deer on sat. Live rurally on farm have been trying to get somone out here since yesterday afternoon. Can't even get a call back at this point.
 
  #15  
Old 11-04-13, 09:26 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,962
Received 37 Votes on 32 Posts
Single-phase three-wire submersible motors require the use of control boxes. Operation of motors without control boxes or with incorrect boxes can result in motor failure. Control boxes contain starting capacitors, a starting relay, and, in some sizes, overload protectors, running capacitors and contactors.


only yellow 10/2 coming in to switch,
I would guess your pump is the issue and surprised it lasted the 10 yrs as you stated...But it needs to be tested.
 
  #16  
Old 11-04-13, 09:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ckd 4th time unless control box buried somewhere between house and well housing there is none . I know it sounds odd but that is all I can figure. I know there should be one logically, dumbfounded
 
  #17  
Old 11-04-13, 09:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I understand pumps to some extent it has yellow wire 1-black, 1-white (red line on yellow wire casing) and 1-ground what am I missing?
 
  #18  
Old 11-04-13, 09:38 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,962
Received 37 Votes on 32 Posts
what am I missing?
Nothing... The pump is probably wired directly to the pressure switch... Probably have a winding burnt out....
 
  #19  
Old 11-04-13, 09:43 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,962
Received 37 Votes on 32 Posts
OK hold on... you may not need a control box... You have two wires coming from the pump?

Such as if you have a pump like this one for example...

Franklin 2 Wire Submersible Motor Description

Sorry I am not a deep well guru, but am trying to help... You need to test the pump though before you move ahead IMO..
 
  #20  
Old 11-04-13, 09:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes 2 wire with ground don't know what pump is down there, never had issue to

What does that mean? New pump time? That would be my luck, if it weren't for bad luck I wouldn't have any lol
 

Last edited by brobinson; 11-04-13 at 09:50 AM. Reason: that may be the issue
  #21  
Old 11-04-13, 09:52 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,962
Received 37 Votes on 32 Posts
Like I said you will not know until you test the pump.

And those pumps alone are around $600 or so without any labor of pulling the old...
 
  #22  
Old 11-11-13, 10:25 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A long shot but something to consider. I had rapid cycling so I replaced a very old pressure switch with new.

I still had problem and discovered that the check valve had came apart and was blocking flow, causing pressure to build and then drop quickly.

Changed check valve, and then had a problem with well intermittently not restarting. Usually at 10:00 at night.

Took a close look at the pressure switch and it was assembled incorrectly at factory. Metal rocker plate was only riding in one groove on one side. Turned off power, removed and took off spring and nut, put back together and walllah!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: