Sewer/Gas smell in the bathroom after going the bathroom

Old 05-09-14, 06:50 AM
F
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sewer/Gas smell in the bathroom after going the bathroom

Hi,

I am new to septic. Purchased a house built in '79 in November and quickly had septic issue (found out the main pipe exiting the house was clogged). After having that snaked out things worked fine (that was back in December I had that done). House had sat open for about a year so basically no water had been run consisently so gunk had built up.

Plumber advised using Bio Clean (which is supposed to provide almost a lubrication on the pipes) monthly which I do as well the Zep pouches (from Home Depot).

About 2 months ago I noticed that everytime we go to the bathroom (number 2) it immediately releases a terrible gas smell (like worse than what it should smell for going to the bathroom Did research and learned that maybe my P traps were dry (so have run all water) and that has not fixed the problem (not to mention the smell comes from the two bathrooms we use most. If a trap is dry say upstairs and we only use te downstairs bathroom, and the downstairs bathroom smells, would it matter that , that trap is dry?

Looking for any advise or thoughts on the smell?? Again only when we go to the bathroom (so it seems like our waste is immediately reacting with the waste so I feel like it is almost backing up)? I opened up the septic tank and had my wife run water and from what I hear everything sounds to be draining right.

Also ready about potentially the venting not be correct but not really sure how to check that? Think the venting pipe is on the roof (doesn't have any branches or anything near it) if I am looking at the right pipe....?

Considering buying one of those septic clean out things (like high powered zep pouches but they can be pricey and not sure if they work? Or if that would even fix my problem?) Any advice is apprecaited thanks!!

Old 05-09-14, 08:14 AM
P
Group Moderator