Well pump controller tripping, pressure tank not filling...

Old 05-26-14, 06:38 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well pump controller tripping, pressure tank not filling...

Noob here...and thanks in advance for any advice.

WELL SPECS:
-Purchased this home and 16 ac in 4/2014.
-Home was built in 1984.
-Submersible well pump (no specs avail).
-Well is 478' per previous homeowner.
-6" diameter casing (will verify this shortly).
-WX 252 WellXTrol pressure tank (86 gal)
-Franklin Electric pump control box (model #2823008110)
-Square D 30/50 pressure switch
-Well was re-cased in 1997

Currently only getting 20-25 psi as measured on 2 separate hose bibs on the property, approx 100' apart.

Yesterday, I replaced the entire plumbing manifold that was at the pressure tank including the brass T, all branch piping, pressure switch (was 30/50, now 40/60), pressure gauge, check valve, pressure relief valve, discharge valve and I also installed a Cycle Stop Valve (model CSV 1) between wellhead and the pressure tank. You can read about those valves at Cycle Stop Valves, Inc. if you're curious. I am not affiliated in any way with this company but their product seems pretty proven and simple.

[add] The pressure tank appears to be intact and not waterlogged. When we first started this fix, the top of the tank rang hollow and the bottom was more of a dull thud when tapping with a wrench.

PROBLEM #1: After re-plumbing everything at the pressure tank when I switch on the breaker, the system pressure quickly builds to 20-25 psi and stays there for several minutes before the thermal reset trips on the pump control box. It does the same thing every time.

PROBLEM #2: Not a drop of water is going into the pressure tank.

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Donnie

Last edited by DonnieC; 05-26-14 at 09:06 PM.
Sponsored Links
Old 05-26-14, 07:14 PM
What's the air pressure set at in that pressure tank . . . . before you even start pumping ?

Old 05-26-14, 09:10 PM