In Line Sand Filter - Well System


  #1  
Old 08-06-14, 02:33 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 181
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
In Line Sand Filter - Well System

Hey Guys,

I'm starting to plan out some modifications to my well system.

I am bringing up a lot of sand and particulate which is collecting in the aerators of my faucets and clogging things. I want to install an in line filter after my well-troll tank before the neutralizer and soon to be softener.

I don't want to sacrifice pressure and flow, if possible, though I know any filter will have some affect...

I've been looking at the twist to clean units. Thoughts?

What do you recommend for this application?

Thanks,

Bryan
 
  #2  
Old 08-06-14, 03:25 PM
V
Vey
Vey is offline
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mid-Florida
Posts: 1,201
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
There is such a thing a "spin down" filter (maybe you are calling it a twist down) which is specifically design to filter out sand.

Any filter you put on will sacrifice pressure and flow. How can anything not do that?

But the spindown filter is advertised to only decrease the pressure by 1/2 a PSI. I think a paper filter does more than that as it loads up.
 
  #3  
Old 08-06-14, 03:57 PM
V
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North East Kingdom of Vermont
Posts: 2,195
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Wouldn't you want to install that filter before the pressure tank, so you don't collect the sand settling inside the tank ?
 

Last edited by Vermont; 08-06-14 at 04:48 PM.
  #4  
Old 08-06-14, 05:15 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 181
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
My understanding is that the filter is installed downstream of the pressure tank and upstream of the neutralizer and softener...

Is this not correct?
 
  #5  
Old 08-07-14, 05:14 AM
V
Vey
Vey is offline
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mid-Florida
Posts: 1,201
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I have never used one, but the Rusco spindown filter installation brochure shows before the pressure tank.

http://www.rusco.com/images/producto...tallSheets.pdf
 
  #6  
Old 08-07-14, 09:09 AM
Z
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,104
Received 93 Upvotes on 85 Posts
hi br and guys -

I installed an AN Neutralizer tank myself. My understanding is that you should not have any filters between the pump and the pressure switch, and since the pressure switch is normally on the tee at the tank, downstream from the pressure tank is OK.

I notice that the rusco link in post #5 shows the filter between the switch and the pressure tank, so that would seem to be OK.

I think the reason is that if there is a filter between the pump and switch, the pressures that pump and switch see can be very different. I guess if the filter gets really clogged you could be in big trouble.

So I guess if you wanted to keep sand out of the pressure tank you would just have to make sure the switch was properly located.

At least thats my understanding, not an expert to say the least. lol
 
  #7  
Old 08-08-14, 08:01 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 955
Received 31 Upvotes on 25 Posts
I'm using the GE whole house filter, available at the big box stores. I even use the high density carbon filter, I think it's a 25 micron. No issues what so ever with water pressure (I'm on a well), even at the 3 month interval.
 
  #8  
Old 08-08-14, 12:23 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 58
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
A sediment tank off of the well head is to be placed first in the line and will remove the sand. It will save you a bunch of sand aggravation and way less filter changes. The sand having a specific gravity greater than water will settle to the bottom of the sediment tank to be drained occasionally. Mine gets drained once or twice / year if I happen to think to do so. A filter immediately following the sediment tank in the line will stop anything with a gravity less than water and a micron size larger than the filter rating.

If your laundry unit has sand in the inlet hose filter screen of the cold water only there is a reason. Your hot water tank is acting as a sediment tank with the sand dropping out at that location.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: