No water - pressure zero


  #1  
Old 11-22-14, 02:05 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No water - pressure zero

Thoughts?

Well - Drilled, 375'
Pump - Submersible

Both are almost 20 years old when the house was built (to my knowledge.)

We just bought the house six months ago.
Water was working great all day, no issues with it or pressure. We were using the water 15 minutes previous to finding it not working. Then NO water.

Pressure tank is empty.
Breaker is not tripped.
It seems as though the whole house filter was unusually clogged with sediment?

With many small children about to wake up for the day I'm in a bit of a panic.
 
  #2  
Old 11-22-14, 03:49 AM
V
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North East Kingdom of Vermont
Posts: 2,195
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Was the filter cartridge relatively clean until just recently ?

What happens if you shut the pump off, pull the filter, and start it back up ?

Clogging may have caused the pump to reach a thermal shut off point; but what caused the sudden infiltration of sediment ?
 
  #3  
Old 11-22-14, 03:51 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,608
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Welcome to the forums! Obviously the filter could be restricting water flow. Can you remove the bad filter and change to a new one? Is the filter before or after the pressure tank? Have you checked the contacts on the pressure switch? Are they open or closed with demand? How comfortable do you feel about working on the switch? How cold is it where you are this morning?
 
  #4  
Old 11-22-14, 07:46 PM
BridgeMan45's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2,838
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
That is one deep well--ours is only 87', and tested at 7 GPM when we bought the place.

I suspect her problem might be a frozen line, or even a frozen pressure tank bladder. A bladder can tear if frozen to the tank interior, making the tank non-functional. I recently had to have our well pump replaced after the old one died, to the tune of $2000 (including replacing all of the old galvanized well pipe with PVC). The pump was 37 years old, so it didn't owe me anything, and had been making some strange noises with each start-up. It wasn't capable of developing more than 20 PSI in the tank.
 
  #5  
Old 11-23-14, 05:29 AM
V
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North East Kingdom of Vermont
Posts: 2,195
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by BridgeMan45
". . . That is one deep well--ours is only 87', and tested at 7 GPM when we bought the place . . ."
I once sold a place whose well was 565' deep. but produced only 1 Quart per Minute . . . . even though another place less than žmile away produced 60 GPM at less than 100'.

Life is not fair; but I guess you do what ya gotta do !
 
  #6  
Old 11-23-14, 07:13 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 25,979
Received 1,776 Upvotes on 1,588 Posts
My well is less than 200 feet and produces over 10gpm while my neighbor had a couple dry 500'+ holes before hitting water with the third well. It truly can be luck of the draw sometimes.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: