How to shock the well

Old 11-02-16, 04:54 AM
F
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
How to shock the well

I posted on here previously about well tank problems. got that fixed. now I had the water tested and it shows bacteria. county said from all the work done and the new pressure tank install. can anyone tell the best way to shock the water system. what I am seeing is to pour a diluted bleach and water solution in to the well casing. is this the proper way. I have the pump suspended on the end of the pipe attached to a 1/4 inch nylon rope as an additional safety measure. will the bleach deteriorate the rope? can anyone point me to the proper procedure or post it on here?

frank

Old 11-02-16, 05:35 AM
V
What kind of bacteria was found ?

If it was E. Coli (Escherichia coli), that only originates in the GI tract of mammals, and is seldom found in a deep drilled well.

As a Real Estate Broker, I've been involved in sanitizing a few hundred wells after some kind of coliform bacteria was found; but it was most often the interior piping and faucets/strainers/washers/swivels which harbored the bacteria . . . . not the originating well itself.

Still, to sanitize the potable water supply of a house, you do have to start with the well, and it's best to estimate the amount of water inside the stand pipe before adding chlorine/bleach so that you don't over do it. I once had a Seller dump a swimming pool shock treatment into his well and it took a week to get a water sample that ran free of chlorine.

I think a quart of chlorine per 100 gallons of water is about maximum, and before doing anything, you want to make sure that all occupants are informed to avoid drinking any of the treated water until the chlorine bleach has completely dissipated . . . . besides, most laboratories will reject any sample still containing any trace of bleach.