Well pressure problem

Old 02-18-18, 07:55 PM
G
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well pressure problem

Okay so I have read a few other threads here that are related to my problem, I'd Luke to hear it from the horses mouth though. I am a refrigeration/hvac mechanic so i do have a pretty good general understanding or a water system.

I have a well, not sure of depth, with what I can only assume to be a submersible pump as I dont have a pump in my house or at the bottom of the well head. About a week ago my water would from time to time lose pressure over night, and if I ran the bathtub or my water softener ran a cycle the pressure would drop below my pump cut in (approx 40psi) and then obviously my pump would turn off and I'd have to manually get the water ressure back up. It has since gotten much worse and as of basically yesterday morning my pressure will not come up any higher than 20psi. It will come up quick and then just stay at 20. What i have done is took apart all the pipe that is in the house (2 90's a few plastic prices of pipe about 7 inches and a ball valve as well as the pressure gauge and pressure switch) I cleaned out all that pipe as I have horribly hard and ferric water, hence the softener. My pressure tank is reading 20psi though the factory charge is 28, I assume it has dropped over the years due to ppl checking pressure or slight leakage at the Schroeder valve.

I moved into the house a couple years ago and havent had any problems with pressure at all. As far as I can see there are a few possible problems. A leak between the pump and the house, clogged up water lines between the pump and house, a plugged up pump intake or a bad pump impeller. Could be a combination of a few of these?

is there a chance that the lower tank pressure idea causing a problem? Where should my pressure be at?

I'm really hoping to not have to pull up my pump quite yet as it is -15 Celsius out there but if that' where my problem likely is then I guess I'd have to.