Trying To Shock My Well.

Old 06-30-18, 10:39 PM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Trying To Shock My Well.

Im wanting to shock my well and don't want to screw anything up. I'm fairly mechanically adept but also fine with asking when I'm new to something.

This is my first house with a well and I want to do a maintenance treatment but I don't have the nice, simple, flip top well access that everyone else seems to have.

So, after looking at the pic of my well head, what I want to know is, what's the rope for? It it attached to the pump? I'm assuming that I need to shut off the power and disconnect the suction pipe at the gray connection? Is the seal plate holding my pump and so do I run the risk of losing my pump down the well if I completely removed it add not tie off or clamp the pipework?

I want to do a shock as the cold water is a little smelly and the hot is very smelly. I'm currently using 2 inline, 5 micron carbon canister filters before a softener with iron fighter salt in it. The salt has taken care of my rusty water and the 3 month filters take care of the smell for about 3 to 4 weeks then I have to change them. I also hit the water heater with peroxide every couple of weeks.

The water smelled real bad when we moved in, even though the seller had the well shocked before we moved in (he had to to pass the water tests for our mortgage). I did some reading up and changed the old sediment fillers out for the carbon ones and put peroxide in the water heater (also run it through the water pipes and let it sit for 8 to 10 hours) and fitted an electric anode.

Things seamed fixed for a few months then the water started smelling again. Changed the filters and put peroxide in the water heater again but it didn't last as long this time. Now we know that when the water starts smelling, the filters are done.