Pump problem


  #1  
Old 08-02-18, 07:02 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Pump problem

My pump is not building pressure past 46 . brand new 40/60 switch, new gauge, and new pressure tube /hose. Pump will not reach cut off . I thought it was the switch and replaced it . I can manually shut it off at the switch and it holds pressure . its been 3hrs and its still at 46. hasnt lost any pressure and it kicks on at 40 but wont build past 46 and my pump keeps running until I shut it off . Could it be my galvanized tank failing?
 
  #2  
Old 08-02-18, 07:18 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,058
Received 3,420 Upvotes on 3,066 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

It is your pump that is failing. Is this a jet pump or submersible ??
 
  #3  
Old 08-03-18, 03:37 AM
V
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North East Kingdom of Vermont
Posts: 2,195
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Was it also a 40/60 Switch that you just replaced ?

Depending upon the configuration at your home, the same pump which was previously able to achieve a 40 or 50 PSI to cut-out may simply not have to power to satisfy a cut-out of 60 PSI.

I know from personal experience that a HP Pump could only satisfy a 20/40 Switch in my house, while a ⅓ HP Pump would work with a 30/50 Switch . . . . but to achieve the desired 60 PSI on my 2nd Floor with a 40/60 Switch, I had to install a HP Pump.

Just changing the Switch alone wouldn't increase the capacity of the Pump. They had to be balanced.
 

Last edited by Vermont; 08-03-18 at 03:56 AM. Reason: spelling
  #4  
Old 08-03-18, 05:02 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 25,960
Received 1,766 Upvotes on 1,579 Posts
The switch only turns the pump on and off. It's the pump that moves the water and generates the pressure. I assume this is an old pump and that the problem has been getting gradually worse over time. If so then it's likely the pump is worn out and is simply not capable of generating higher pressure. Can't say or help much more without knowing what type of pump you have.
 
  #5  
Old 08-03-18, 07:15 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I have a 1 hp jet pump .. It had 40 /60 switch on it previously and it worked up until a week ago . Pump was rebuilt 2 years ago and footvalve was replaced when rebuilt. It seems like i have plenty of water pressure in my house . even more than before but will not build past 46 at the pump. Havent had any trouble with it since rebuilt
 
  #6  
Old 08-03-18, 08:13 AM
D
Group Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,467
Received 190 Upvotes on 153 Posts
I want to be sure I am understanding the issue. What I read in your previous post is that your system would only pump/show 46 PSI & was your initial problem, so you changed the pressure switch, pressure hose & the gauge. After doing so, the exact issue is still there. 46 PSI.... before & after.
I'm just ensuring that the current issue, was the initial issue.

This issue happened all at once? Or over a period of time? Hours, days or a couple of weeks, etc?
 
  #7  
Old 08-03-18, 08:43 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The problem is the pump wont stop running. Im not sure if its becacause it hasnt reached 60. Will not build past 46. A week ago i notice it wasnt kickin off. Had to manuely turn it off since. Since then replace those parts still no change. . whether im running the water or not it stays at 46 while the pump is running. If i shut it off with the pressure switch it stays off til i use the water and then it kicks on like it should at 40 but then it doesnt shut off or build past 46.
 

Last edited by James85; 08-03-18 at 08:59 AM.
  #8  
Old 08-03-18, 08:47 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 25,960
Received 1,766 Upvotes on 1,579 Posts
Is it a shallow well jet pump (one hose to well) or a deep well jet pump (two hoses to well)?
 
  #9  
Old 08-03-18, 09:12 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Well is over 100ft deep foot valve at 40 or 60 ft deep. I cant figure out how to post a pic on here
 
  #10  
Old 08-03-18, 10:47 AM
V
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North East Kingdom of Vermont
Posts: 2,195
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Your Profile doesn't indicate what part of the Country you're in; but if you're incurring drought conditions, your Pump may have drawn in more debris than normal and may be partially clogged . . . . producing a compromised output that can't achieve the 60 PSI anymore.
 
  #11  
Old 08-03-18, 10:50 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 25,960
Received 1,766 Upvotes on 1,579 Posts
How many pipes connect your pump to the well? One or two?
 
  #12  
Old 08-03-18, 12:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,058
Received 3,420 Upvotes on 3,066 Posts
A little posting help..... How-to-insert-pictures
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: