Septic mound issue


  #1  
Old 09-29-18, 07:15 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Septic mound issue

This house was built in 1979. So makes the mound 39 years old. It is pretty large mound. I was up on top of the mound and noticed 2 wet spots - maybe foot in diameter and definitely sewage smell. I dug a foot away from each wet spot and no sewage smell there. These wet spots are both at the top section and do not have any water pooling in any areas. I live in the Pacific Northwest so we get our share of heavy rainfall and the water table in this area has risen.

I am assuming this is an issue of possible failure? The 2 spots are approx 15 feet apart.The only thing that has changed this year is we had a few moles infiltrate the mound. Other than that it has been my Wife and I for the last 6 years so usage is not as much as when the whole family was here.

Thanks for any thoughts
 
  #2  
Old 09-30-18, 03:04 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 45,770
Received 869 Upvotes on 760 Posts
Hard to say without being there to inspect it. When was the tank pumped last? Any vegetation other than grass growing on the mound? Is everything else working properly?
 
  #3  
Old 09-30-18, 12:01 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Tank is pumped every 3 years and requires a county operating permit. Was done 2 years ago. No vegetation other than grass. No back up issues. Someone was telling me there should be inspection ports in the mound?

Having someone come out Monday and look
 
  #4  
Old 10-01-18, 03:09 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 45,770
Received 869 Upvotes on 760 Posts
The mound system I had in fla didn't have any inspection ports. It did have a distribution box. The issues I had with mine stemmed from faulty installation [not enough gravel over the drain pipes] that allowed roots to grow into the pipes. I had to dig up and clean the drain field pipes. I added to the drain field for good measure. That cured my issues.
 
  #5  
Old 10-01-18, 04:43 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Digging up the pipes sounded intensive and costly?
 
  #6  
Old 10-01-18, 04:55 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 45,770
Received 869 Upvotes on 760 Posts
It's not as bad with a mound system as it is with a conventional drain field. The reason for a mound system where I lived in fla was the high water table. They'd bring in a truckload of sand, then gravel, install the pipes. cover with gravel and a weed barrier before covering it up with dirt and sod. This means the drain field pipes aren't as deep. I repaired my system myself with a shovel ..... but I was a lot younger/poorer back then.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: