Water from spigot or to sprinklers

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-16-19, 12:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 26
Water from spigot or to sprinklers

I wanted to get. My sprinkler pump to be able to give me water at a spigot. I added a tank to the sprinkler system and ran the house wire from the cycle stop valve to a pressure switch and on to the motor. Tank doesn't fill or spigot run unless sprinkler running. How do I get both spigot water anytime and still have sprinklers on timer?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-16-19, 01:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,021
Likes Received: 167
Welcome to the forums.

Since you've added a pressure switch to the system..... you no longer need to have the sprinkler system control the pump. The pressure switch will now control it and there will be water pressure all the time for the spigot or the sprinklers.

The sprinkler control will just open the zone valves as needed.
 
  #3  
Old 05-16-19, 03:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 26
So dc house wire from csv and house wire direct to pressure switch
 
  #4  
Old 05-16-19, 03:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,021
Likes Received: 167
I don't know how you have it wired.
There is usually no DC involved in a sprinkler system as it uses 24vAC.
 
  #5  
Old 05-17-19, 08:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 26
So where would the timer control get its electricity Oh and dc meant discontinue sorry for the confusion
 

Last edited by Wfollet; 05-17-19 at 08:38 AM. Reason: add a question
  #6  
Old 05-17-19, 10:51 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,021
Likes Received: 167
cycle stop valve
A CSV doesn't usually have wiring on it that I'm aware of.

Ultimately you need to end with 240v from your house to the pressure switch to the pump.
I think a few pictures would be helpful..... How-to-insert-pictures.
 
  #7  
Old 05-21-19, 09:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 26
I should have said start relay, not the CSV there is no CSV if the 220 wire goes direct to the pressure switch, how will the sprinkler control receive its electric from?

Name:  p1.JPG
Views: 54
Size:  142.7 KB

Name:  p2.JPG
Views: 46
Size:  72.9 KB

Name:  p3.JPG
Views: 55
Size:  97.3 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-21-19 at 05:12 PM. Reason: resized pictures and added closeup labeled
  #8  
Old 05-21-19, 05:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,021
Likes Received: 167
Is that a piece of two conductor romex feeding that box ?
It looks like cloth covered romex or BX cable.
We were discussing 240v but that looks like a 120v setup........ is it ?

Connect L1 to T1 and L2 to T2. Effectively bypassing the contactor.
There should be a service switch there to work on the pump as it is hard wired in place.
 
  #9  
Old 05-22-19, 05:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 26
I was always thinking it was 220. Is there a way to check? Do I end up with 2 wires on T1 and L1?
 

Last edited by Wfollet; 05-22-19 at 05:19 AM. Reason: add a question
  #10  
Old 05-22-19, 10:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,021
Likes Received: 167
Check the voltage on L1 and L2. It looks like the Hunter controller is getting power from there.
That controller is only 120v.

You combine L1 and T1 and you'll have three wires connected.
 
  #11  
Old 05-24-19, 08:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 26
So L1 to T1 all three wires and L2 to T2 and pump runs constantly. Water spigots and sprinkler working, but pump doesn't shut off. House wired to pressure switch, the from pressure switch to pump. There is air in tank. Pump stays on even though water not flowing.
 

Last edited by Wfollet; 05-24-19 at 08:18 AM. Reason: Clarify
  #12  
Old 05-24-19, 10:41 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,021
Likes Received: 167
Yes.... if there is no water flowing to increase the system pressure...... the pump won't shut off.

Is the system reaching the turn off setting on the pressure switch ?
Does the switch actually open when the pressure hits that setting ?
If the switch is actually opening and the pump is still running... the switch is not wired correctly.
 
  #13  
Old 05-25-19, 07:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 26
Should black wires be to center and white/red wires to outside? and no pump does not shut off at 50 PSI.
 
  #14  
Old 05-25-19, 08:39 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,021
Likes Received: 167
With a 120v pump.... you use one set of contacts to switch the black hot wires.
The white wires are wirenutted together.

Name:  pump.jpg
Views: 39
Size:  19.4 KB
 
  #15  
Old 05-29-19, 07:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 26
Wired as directed, had to change tank due to leak. Still wont build enough pressure on gauge to shut off pump. Does it make a difference if this is a pump for sprinklers?
 
  #16  
Old 05-29-19, 10:50 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,021
Likes Received: 167
50psi shouldn't be too high for that pump and you need close to that anyway for the sprinklers.
What does the pressure gauge go up to ?

You may have to try adjusting the pressure down to a lower shut off pressure.
 
  #17  
Old 05-29-19, 11:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 26
My pressure is a t 40 psi shut off now. should I try a new pressure switch?
 
  #18  
Old 05-29-19, 01:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 26
sprinkler running the pressure gauge goes down to 20 then back to 40 in a surging fashion. I cannot keep the power on to see if the controller works because the pump won't shut off.
 
  #19  
Old 05-30-19, 08:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 26
I changed the pressure switch and used a low pressure switch and it turns on with that, then runs to 30 psi and wont rise more. water just doesn't seem to go into the tank. I've checked flow and one way valves for correct flow. water runs out the spigot as long as the pump is on. wont fill the tank. wont build pressure wont stay on. won't turn on with low pressure.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes