Converting shallow well to deep

Old 04-06-20, 05:09 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Converting shallow well to deep

Hi all,

I am replacing an old structure with a new one and want to upgrade the well service. I currently have a shallow well with a 6-inch casing that terminates below the frost line. I would ideally extend it to above grade and install a submersible pump.

Here is a link to two pictures from what I uncovered today: https://photos.app.goo.gl/KQyDfr2GUqFm1GkT8

I am just getting started with this job and was not able to find much online on how to make this conversion (or if it's even possible or appropriate). Is there an extension kit? Is this something that requires special tools and machinery to connect? Is there a way to DIY test the well if it has fast enough refill rate to make using it worthwhile?

I know, I am starting from ground zero.

Any advice or links to where to start reading would be very much appreciated.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 04-06-20, 11:51 AM
Group Moderator
Received 756 Votes on 710 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The first question is how deep is the current well ?
Usually converting a shallow well to deep well requires the well to be dug deeper.

Old 04-06-20, 11:51 AM
Z
Received 9 Votes on 9 Posts
hi bdh Ė

Iím no expert for sure but I have well with a submersible pump and the well head (looks like yours) is down in a 4 foot pit. The pit isnít allowed by code anymore since water can get into the pit and sit on top of the well head and seep down into the well (and my pit fills with water during rain Ė so thatís bad). I think probably yours also isnít code compliant because itís buried, and today the well head is supposed to be above ground on a slight rise so surface water drains away.