Help with well pump replacement

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-17-20, 06:55 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 60
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help with well pump replacement

Hi all! I have a old 3 season cottage which has a shallow well pump. We used a pump/pressure tank combo for 15ish years, then the pressure tank failed so we got a 20 gallon.

Now this year our pump died. I quickly figured out that the Little Green Giant Menards sold me doesnít have the port for a pressure tank, so Iím not sure how to best get everything setup. I was thinking I could add another 3 way fitting out the top of the pump, then Connect the hose to that. Geometry seems to be against me with that thought thought. Any ideas?

This is my original setup:
https://imgur.com/gallery/c9ZvcPe

New pump:
https://imgur.com/gallery/XtXJo2e

Pump I purchased:
https://www.menards.com/main/plumbin...7334885176.htm
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-17-20, 08:29 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 22,346
Received 433 Votes on 398 Posts
The pressure tank does not have to be mounted on the pump. You can T into the water line on the output side of the pump and install your pressure tank.
 
  #3  
Old 05-17-20, 08:35 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,343
Received 741 Votes on 696 Posts
I would put a tee in place of the coupler where the arrow is pointing.

Name:  pump.jpg
Views: 77
Size:  72.5 KB

 
  #4  
Old 05-18-20, 04:43 AM
O
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 667
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It looks to me like they used the pump draining hole for the pressure tank in the older pictures. T off of the outgoing line, as suggested, would be best. It is the more common method and it should allow for a quicker tank fill because you can use larger diameter piping.
 
  #5  
Old 05-20-20, 05:49 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 60
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you all! So it will work ok if I leave with the tube going to the coupler without on the the $50 ĎTí pipes they sell for pressure tanks? Thatís how we always used it but want to make sure. Thanks!

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Everbilt...10NL/205618015
 
  #6  
Old 05-20-20, 06:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,343
Received 741 Votes on 696 Posts
If you're asking if you need to use that pump tee..... no.... you don't.
You can use any tee you'd like.
 
  #7  
Old 05-21-20, 04:37 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 60
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi all,

Today I went up and got it working with the pressure tank. Iím noticing air in the lines though and there are no leaks/everything is tight. We have a 40í 4Ē point with a 2Ē PVC insert. Any ideas?

https://photos.app.goo.gl/mia8hxUWXPuoevwE8

https://photos.app.goo.gl/VxhmV1jWK9tACKgT9
 
  #8  
Old 05-22-20, 05:37 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 22,346
Received 433 Votes on 398 Posts
Air can get into the lines whenever you are installing new components. If that's how it got in then the air will work itself out over time. If you continue to get air in the line then you may have a leak, likely on the suction side of the pump.
 
  #9  
Old 05-23-20, 07:31 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 60
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks! Iím going to go through everything today. I got it up and running on Thursday and it was fine until I tried to fill my hot water heater, then it lost prime. It looks like shallow well pumps are only good for 25í of water. If my point is 40í with probably 30í of water does this pump fit my application?

The alternative is that the screen on the bottom of the point is clogged and itís not filling up quick enough. I read that you can put muriatic acid in to eat through mineral deposits. Iím trying to find where I can get that.
 
  #10  
Old 05-23-20, 10:11 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,343
Received 741 Votes on 696 Posts
I'm not a well pro so I can't offer any help with using acid but....
Muriatic acid is widely available. Lowes, Depot, Amazon, Ace.
You need to check the acidic level. Most are around 15%. You may need something stronger.

A standard single pipe well is only good for around 25' deep.
If you have room in the casing you could add a shallow well jet kit and a second line.

Losing the prime sound like the water level is below the pickup pipe.
 
  #11  
Old 05-23-20, 12:58 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 60
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Iím playing around with it and it will drop to 10 psi then start recovering. Mostly at high demand. It seems to have recovery issues
 
  #12  
Old 05-23-20, 05:12 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 60
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Our point is 23 feet deep and have 12 feet of water when I drop a weighted line in it
 
  #13  
Old 05-24-20, 04:47 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 22,346
Received 433 Votes on 398 Posts
It is possible you are pumping the well dry. A well that small has almost no storage capacity so you are limited by how quickly water can flow into your well point.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: