Need help identifying my well components

Old 09-21-20, 06:22 PM
P
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help identifying my well components

Hello all. I am very new here and sorry if I will sound like a rookie or someone who knows pretty much nothing. I am currently a full time police officer by trade, but trying to repair around my house anything I can do myself.

I've been having some small issues with my private well for some time. The latest and most significant issue is I believe refers as water hammer. Pretty much anytime I turn on water in my house, I can hear hammering sounds coming from pressure switch (which is outside of the house next to the well). What would be first place to check? Should I drain pressure tank?

And speaking of pressure tank, i noticed that i have one huge tank and one smaller tank. I guess smaller one is pressure tank? If that is the case, what is the bigger tank? I also have water softener and I think iron filter system, which I am planning to replace for new ones as my current ones seem to be old and water softener does not appear to be working. I also have a tank for chlorine, which actually does appear to be working.

Thanks for your help. I really appreciate it and really want to get started on sort of private well rebuild project.

Last edited by PJmax; 09-21-20 at 07:21 PM. Reason: labeled picture
Sponsored Links
Old 09-21-20, 07:23 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I added labeling to your picture as it makes the discussion easier.

A & B look like salt tanks for the softener.
C looks like the softener.
D is the pressure tank.
E looks like a liquid chlorine tank.
F looks like a filter.

Your pressure tank should eliminate hammering. It needs to be charged to a few PSI's under the pump turn on pressure. Is there an air fitting on it ? You may be able to add air directly to that tank.

pahanorlando voted this post useful.

Last edited by PJmax; 09-21-20 at 08:10 PM.