Different Varieties of Corn Explained

Corn is a grain vegetable that is a favorite with many people. The many varieties of corn include maize, which is native to the Americas, although a few varieties were discovered in Asia. The six main varieties of corn are:

Sweet corn. This variety is commonly found in the produce section of the grocery store. Renowned for its sugar content in the kernels, this corn can be grown in zones 4 to 11.

Popcorn. This variety is harvested for the kernels that are removed from the cob, dried and packaged for popping. The moisture inside each kernel and the hard hull makes this variety the perfect movie snack. Popcorn can be grown in zones 5 to 7.

Flint corn. Also known as Indian corn, different colors dominate the kernels in each cob. The kernels are usually dark brown, orange and yellow due to open pollination. This corn is used for decorative purposes in the fall when harvested. Flint corn grows in zones 5 to 11.

Waxy corn. This variety of corn was originally discovered in China and is now cultivated in the United States. Waxy corn produces a starch that is used in making adhesive glues. This variety of corn is raised as animal fodder and grows in zones 5 to 7.

Japanese striped maize. First grown in Japan during the nineteenth century, this variety of corn has burgundy colored kernels. This is a decorative corn that can be grown in zones 5 to 11.

Blue corn. This variety of corn is cultivated for flour in making tortillas and chips. Blue corn can also be used for decorative purposes. This type of corn will grow in zones 5 to 11.