Different Varieties of Honeysuckle Explained Different Varieties of Honeysuckle Explained

Honeysuckles are a type of flowering vines, which are planted in gardens for their sweet smelling flowers and beautiful look. These vines can easily be planted and act as cover-ups for “ugly areas” of your garden or house (like roofs). There are 180 species of honeysuckles found throughout the world, out of which almost 100 are found in China. Few of these vines also produce berries, but not all of them are edible. Following are the descriptions of three different varieties of honeysuckles that can be grown in your garden.

Dwarf Bush Honeysuckle  

This particular type of honeysuckle grows in Western part of America. Unlike other honeysuckles, this variety can thrive for almost a century. Fibrous roots and shallow laterals allow dwarf bush honeysuckle to grow in rocky sites where the soil is well drained. It grows up to 4 feet in height and produces sweet smelling yellow-colored flowers.

French Honeysuckle

French honeysuckles can grow in any type of soil as long as it is well drained. The only condition is they require at least 6 hours of full sunlight every day. Grown mostly in western North America, these vines produce nectar-filled pink flowers. Apart from the nectar of the flowers, the roots of these vines are also edible (can be eaten raw or cooked).

Dropmore Scarlet Honeysuckle  

This honeysuckle requires moist and organic soil to thrive well. Full sunlight and warmer climates ensures that dropmore honeysuckles stay evergreen throughout their perennial lives. They produce very sweet smelling scarlet orange-colored tubular flowers, which are filled with nectar.

Got a New Project You're Proud of?

Post it on Your Projects!