What are the Different Types of Heater Thermostats What are the Different Types of Heater Thermostats

A heater thermostat is available in two basic types: line voltage thermostats and low-voltage thermostats. Additionally, the low-voltage thermostat may be mercury controlled or digital, and may be manually operated or have remote controls or even remote thermostats. Here is a brief look at the two main types, and how they are applied to heating and cooling.

Line Voltage Thermostats
This type of thermostat is wired in series with the power feed for the heating unit. It usually has 240 volts passing through it, and controls the heater by directly cutting the current, or allowing it to flow through the thermostat to the heater. This type of thermostat is notorious for absorbing heat from the line or the heater, and causing the heater to shut off before the room temperature has reached the desired level.

Low Voltage Thermostats
This type is commonly used in HVAC units. It has many sub-categories including mercuric, digital, and wireless, and each of these sub-types may also have more than one variety. Low voltage thermostats work by controlling a special switch that allows power to flow to the heat or cooling unit, as required. This type is a bit more complex than a line voltage thermostat, but it is also considered to be many times more accurate.

Got a New Project You're Proud of?

Post it on Your Projects!